When it all happens at once…

At the Tourism Rally with my hospitality lady crew

Last week, within 24 hours of each other, I received two phone calls that separately would have been phenominal successes, but together just about blew me away with happiness. One was from my husband letting me know that the offer we placed on our very first home was accepted. The second was from Waggener Edstrom Worldwide offering me an Account Executive position at their firm. Like I said….phenominal.

After I calmed down from the rush of hearing that news and realized I was still at work and in the middle of a hellish long day at that, I thought to myself, “Heather, this is the part where you realize prayers are being answered.”

I have worked as the PR representative for The Fairmont Olympic Hotel for nearly 3.5 years and couldn’t imagine getting to where I am today without the experiences I have had here. If you work in the hospitality sector then you can skip down to the next paragraph of this post…if you don’t, let me give you a quick glimpse in to the world of working in hotels/F&B – ready? It’s is the single-most challenging heart-pumping lose your mind exhausting omg-so much fun exciting celebrity spotting voice losing long long days spent running up and down floors economic downturn suffering say yes Sir and yes Ma’am tweeting non-stop about the most interesting events to see your city – awesome. Phew! That’s it in a nutshell.

Long story short: in a big swimming pool, the hospitality industry is the deep end and I was thrown in to it. Guess what? I loved every minute of learning how not to drown. What a better way to learn how to be a young professional in the PR industry then work in one of the most glamourous hotels in Downtown Seattle, rub elbows with the city’s elite, learn from the best of the very best, and fail forward as often as possible. My time here at The Olympic will always be characterized by deep relationships with bright and inspiring individuals and many many many stories that I’ll one day be able to jot down in a book that I’ll be forced to publish under an alias.

So what’s my new adventure? I have accepted a position as an Account Executive with Waggener Edstrom Worldwide. I’m thrilled to be doing a bit of a 180 degree turn in the PR industry and switch from lifestyle PR to tech as I will be sitting on a Microsoft account. The adventure ahead is a bright one and one that I am truly looking forward to. Sometimes I think being 27 is “getting up there” and I feel like time is running out for me to do the things in life I really want to do. But then I realize that I’m being paranoid and 27 is still young enough to run out there and grab as many experiences that come forth.

Today, my husband and I head to our potential new home and to meet the inspector. After all this the house is ours. In one short week, I was blessed with two fantastic new endeavors and I couldn’t be more thrilled. It’s moments like these….

To all of those reading this post that I met while working at The Olympic, you are the bomb.com. This hotel was home to epic memories to which you all play a part and I will never loose sight of that. Most of you I will remain in good contact with and you better believe I will be jumping over the pond from Bellevue to crash all my favorite happy hours and tweet-ups as often as possible.

Leave a Reply

